Hear about our service
  • Role of the funeral director

    Ivor Thomas Funerals have managed two family funerals within the past few months, and both done with the utmost care and consideration. As a family run funeral directors, they bring a special touch to the whole process of honouring the last memory family & friends will have of their loved one.

    Prior to our most recent loss, had often viewed the role of the funeral director as kind of morbid, but ITF made me realise that it is a role of privilege – after all, you are entrusting them with taking care of your loved one’s transition. Nothing was too much trouble, when we first sat with Mark & Neil, we thought we had the whole service arranged, but Mark knew there would be many changes along the way and ensured us, no matter the time of the day, they were always there to accommodate, and they were.

    Thank you to all at ITF and Bernadette (our officiant) for helping our family honour our loved one in the best possible way.

    Yasmin Flemming

    Via Google on 7th November 2021

  • A fantastic family run business.

    I would like to thank Ivor Thomas Funerals for taking care of my mums funeral, they were extremely thoughtful, kind and caring, from start to finish. Any queries or worries we had, were dealt with a personal approach that was still professional. A fantastic family run business that I would highly recommend.

    Aimee Jones

    Via Google on 29th October 2021

  • Nothing was too much.

    I am 77 years old and over many years have experienced many funerals, family or otherwise. I can confidently say that Ivor Thomas are the best funeral directors that I have ever seen or dealt with. Nothing was too much trouble and they were professional from start to finish.

    Trevor Davies

    Via Google on 27th October 2021

  • Very highly recommend Ivor Thomas Funerals. You won’t find more caring, friendly, helpful people.

    I cannot thank ITF enough! They are so caring, so helpful, so kind. They were more than happy to explain things over and over when I struggled to retain information with my grief. I literally felt that nothing was too much for them. They gave great advice and suggestions, and were never pushy. They just wanted everything to be right for us, and they would do everything and anything to help. I have never arranged a funeral before and I can honestly say that Mark and the team guided me through every step of the way. They even arranged the beautiful flowers! I would 100% recommend them to anybody. Wonderful people, full of empathy. I have been in touch with them since the funeral to discuss options of scattering ashes and they are still so kind and helpful. They always respond to any query you may have straight away and you honestly will not find more empathic friendly people. I could not recommend them more!

    Written by: NicolaJ-275

    Via Yell on 20th September 2021

  • Professional, approachable and compassionate.

    From the first meeting I had been impressed with the service in every way.I would describe it as very personable,professional and respectful service. I am so grateful to Ivor Thomas Funerals all team; they are lovely people.I felt very looked after from the first meeting to the end of the funeral.The service they provided was full of dignity and class.They helped me through all procedures with kindness and thoughtfulness thus this made things less stressful than if could have been.A special thank you to Jess and Neil; they both were very helpful and professional, approachable and compassionate. The professionalism of the whole team fulfilled my husband’s last wish and provided him with a beautiful and very personalised service.
    Thank you

    Written by: Jowita Czwojdrak

    Via Email on 5th September 2021

  • A professional and personal service

    Neil and his team offer a professional and personal service. At times like this it is such a welcome feeling to know that you and your loved ones are being looked after in such a warm and respectful way. Could not have asked for more. Thank you guys!

    Written by: Phil Lemos

    Via Google on 26th August 2021

  • Thank you from the bottom of my heart ❤

    My mum was devastated when her companion past away. We went to pay our respect at Ivor Thomas Funeral home. The care they gave my mother was exceptional. very personal touch and went above and beyond to make this awful time slightly more bearable. In my opinion they are the best at what they do. Will definitely recommend you.
    Thank you from the bottom of my heart

    Written by: Katy Elizabeth

    Via Facebook on 23rd August 2021

  • Above and beyond

    Absolutely brilliant , deeply respectful and such lovely people at Ivor Thomas funerals . We sadly lost mum , and mark went above and beyond to ensure everything went as we wanted . We were so grateful for his help , especially with arranging the burial at eglwysilan church . Every member of staff showed so much respect and patience . The flowers were beautiful and made with love and care , and for that we will always be grateful .
    As a family , we cannot recommend this company enough , you can’t meet nicer people , or get a more personal touch .

    Written by: Claire Smith

    Via Facebook on 21st August 2021

  • Absolutely beautiful

    These gentlemen from the very start showed the upmost respect to my Grampy after losing his wife of 60 years.

    They put my Grampy at ease, he didn’t have to worry about anything.

    Every part of the service was done to a very high standard in a professional manner.

    They went above and beyond, for the price my Grampy paid and what he got was unbelievable, you would have thought he paid doubled the amount.
    The family had the chance to see my Nan a couple days before the funeral, which made a couple of them nervous. But the work the lady done on her was remarkable, she looked absolutely beautiful.

    Once again they went above and beyond. Not only my Grampy but the whole family was at ease after seeing how well they looked after her.

    I would highly recommend this company. I know in the future my family will use them again, (hopefully not to soon though)

    Written by: Katherine Atkins

    Via Google on 9th August 2021

  • Highly recommend

    I would like to say a big thank you to the staff of Ivor Thomas funeral home as you took care of my grandmother and made her look absolutely beautiful we was all in shock that day we seen my grandmother with all her make up on utter shock you made her look like she did 50 years ago.

    Our family couldn’t thank you enough for the support you have shown and gave to our family we will never ever forget how you all looked after my Nan and made her as beautiful as ever thank you .. I highly recommend Ivor Thomas funeral home they are absolutely wonderful thank you thank you thank you

    Written by: Emily P

    Via Yell on 3rd August 2021

  • First Impressions

    We were booked by Mark on behalf of one of their families, and the first impressions we had of the team was professional, empathetic and approachable. Was a pleasure to work alongside them. we look forward to seeing them again. Lynne Lovey Dovey UK

    Written by: Lynne M Casey Morgan

    via Facebook on 29th March

  • Extremely Grateful

    I will always be extremely grateful to Ivor Thomas Funerals for the incredibly professional and caring service they provided when we lost my grandfather. As a family we chose Ivor Thomas because they are a family run business and truly care about what they do. Ivor Thomas also only have 1 funeral per day meaning loved ones get their full care and attention. The care and compassion they showed us as a family was admirable, they really looked after my nan, checking in on her afterwards even bringing grampy home to her. If you’re taking your time reading this review, I’m very sorry for your loss but I can honestly say Ivor Thomas will take out so much of the stress of what is such a difficult time.
     

    Written by: Claire Edwards

    via Google on 28th March 2021

  • Saying goodbye

    I visited today to say goodbye to my ex partner. I arrived before everybody else due to heavy traffic. I was invited in and made to feel so calm! All of the staff were so kind and really did put me at ease. The Funeral is on Friday and I feel that Damien is in very good hands. I can’t thank you enough.

    Written by: Sarah Lou

    via Google on 17th March 2021

  • Provided fantastic service

    I would just like to say a big ‘thank you’ for all your help arranging my dad’s funeral. I would thoroughly recommend Ivor Thomas Funerals based on their empathy and their willingness to go above and beyond. Mark, Neil and the team were extremely professional and yet very personable. They recommended Mr Mike Farr as a a humanist celebrant who was also excellent. Ivor Thomas Funerals provided fantastic service in arranging a bespoke funeral completely befitting my dad. Thank you so much.

    Written by: Steve Bryant

    via Google on 26th February 2021

  • Recommend these for any services they provide.

    Would like to thank Ivor thomas from myself and all our family for their support throughout the whole process of my late husband Aron Jones from start to finish. They have been amazing. Nothing was to much for them. Attention to detail was next to none. All the little details they were able to arrange were so very much appreciated and gave aron the best send off he possibly could of had. Would highly recommend these for any services they provide.

    Written by: Sara Jones

    via Facebook on 18th February 2021

  • 1000 stars.

    I wish I could rate Ivor Thomas 1000 stars. They’ve been absolutely fantastic and so supportive to my family after the sudden loss of my son even going extra to help with a military send off, willing to help with anything and gave my boy a perfect send off. As a family we can’t thank you all enough. Even through these difficult times.

    Written by: Deborah S

    via Yell on 9th February 2021

  • An outstanding funeral directors

    The team were incredibly compassionate and helpful throughout the whole process. On the day of the funeral, they were exceptional in all ways. We are so grateful for all the kindness and professionalism offered by the team. Thank you!

    Written by: VPC

    via Google on 29th January 2021

  • Absolutely amazing

    Ivor Thomas has been a total god send! They have been totally amazing with support and everything they have done to make my dads day the best it could be! Thank you very much Mark & Neil

    Written by: Carly H

    via Yell on 29th January 2021

  • Thank you very much

    very professional at my nans funeral yesterday. thank you very much for giving her the send of she deserved

    Written by: Eloise Lewis

    via Facebook on 16th January 2021

  • First class service
    We would like to thank Mark Neil and the team for taking care of our mother’s (Veronica Lewis) funeral they were compassionate from first phone call. We would highly recommend them for a stress free funeral they take care of everything and are always only a phone call away. Thank you to all who work at Ivor Thomas funeral. Nothing too much trouble. First class service and very respectful.

    Written by: Verna E

    via Yell on 16th January 2021

  • Honestly amazing

    Honestly amazing. The care, attention to detail, reasonable pricing and such a lovely family vibe helped me at such a difficult time. Would 100% recommend, thank you.

     

    Written by: Emily Feeley

    via Facebook on 19 December 2020

  • Real family run business

    This place was honestly a god send. They took care of my Father in law after his passing so well. They also went above and beyond for my partner who lost her Dad. Nothing was too much, everything was explained, extremely professional yet personable throughout. Not just the family, but all guests at the funeral, commented on how brilliant you guys were at such a hard time. Not over priced either in which we found many other funeral directors to be. So grateful to Ivor Thomas Funerals, a real family run business too. Would recommend these amazing, caring people to anyone. We will be forever grateful to you all, thank you. Em, Matt and family.

    Written by: Matt Baker

    via Google on 17th January 2020

  • Compassionate

    I would like to thank Mark and Neil for taking care of my mums funeral Marguerite Jones they were compassionate from first phone call to the very end of collecting her ashes . I would highly recommend them for a stress free funeral they take care of everything and is always only a phone call away . Thank you to all who work at Ivor Thomas funeral.

    Written by: Glenda Gibbons

    via Google on 11th December 2020

  • Fantastic service

    We simply could not wish for a better people who helped us with passing of my husband mum. They have been kind caring , and most importantly respectful, and understanding. The thing with loss is , we are most of the time unprepared, and after our loved one pass away, we are left with trying to wrap ones life- if you never done this before while dealing with grief , then there are no better people than Mark and his father Niel , to guide you though this difficult time. They have funerals that suit any budget, and in my opinion they are the cheapest in Cardiff and Caerphilly ( that’s where i checked ), but being the cheapest – does not mean that they do very basic – quite the opposite! they go that extra mile. from my own experience there were quite a few times where Mark helped us , from trying to chase the coroner office who took forever , to do the service twice, because the family members arrived late , i honestly dont think anyone would have done that , but Niel and Mark did ! . for that we be very grateful. Death of my husband mum, made us think of our own mortality .We will be setting up our own funeral plans with Ivor Thomas to make sure everything is sorted. Again i wish i could gave 1000 stars if i could ! fantastic service.

    Written by: Ariana

    via Google on 10th December 2020

  • Absolutely Outstanding

    Genuinely outstanding. The most caring, professional and sympathetic family. Ivor Thomas Funerals helped bury our Dad at a reasonable cost, explained everything, were there constantly for any questions. Our whole family, and the funeral guests, we so grateful and impressed with the level of care we received. Would 100% recommend. Thank you guys – Em, Matt and family x

    Written by: Emily G

    via Yell on 9th December 2020

  • Heartfelt

    Unfortunately I buried my grandfather 24th September 2020 with Ivor Thomas Funerals. Mark, Neil and Jess thank you all for being so compassionate, so helpful, so understanding, thanks for the advice and also being patient especially during these unprecedented times. Everything turned out amazing! Sad to say! But from the church, to the flower arrangements, to the coffin, picture slides, to the urn- I will say my grandad had a great send off.

    The genuine compassion shown was heartfelt, and they made sure the funeral was how we wanted it. The communication was brilliant being that I am based in London. Such great service! We thank you so much.

    Written by: Shelina Jeffers

    via Google on 24th October 2020

  • I highly recommend this family funeral.

    This week I had the unfortunate experience of attending my Dad’s funeral. Arranging a funeral during these times is apparently difficult but after just two weeks of planning with Mark we put together a service that was very well received by all members of my family. I highly recommend this family funeral directors – they were very comforting and nothing was too much to ask. Thank you guys.

    Written by: Dave Huntington

    via Google on 21st October 2020

  • Absolutely excellent.

    Mark and the team were absolutely excellent, from the first phone call right through to the funeral service and beyond.

    We had never arranged a funeral before, we were guided each step of the way, all calls and emails answered promptly, I really felt they went above and beyond with their customer care.

    It’s a strange time to arrange a funeral, but I would have no hesitation in recommending Ivor Thomas funeral directors, they were just superb!

    Written by: Clare Bowen

    via Google on 8th October 2020

  • They were amazing

    Ivor thomas was recommended by a freind, and as a family we were so glad we chose Mark & Neil to arrange mums funeral. From the first call till mum’s service. They were amazing. They treated our mum with respect that she deserved. Mark was happy to help to get personal things for us to treasure. This family run business is not about robbing bereaved families. Honestly they are the most caring & kind funeral directors I’ve known. Again thank you Mark & Neil.

    Written by: Ceri Jenkins

    via Facebook on 8th October 2020

  • Thank you Neil and Mark for all that you did before and after the funeral.

    This is a family run business within minutes of contacting them they made me feel that my late father was going to be treated with the upmost dignity, I would highly recommend them , thank you Neil and Mark for all that you did for us , before, during and after the funeral.

    Written by: David White

    via Facebook on 3rd October 2020

  • Husbands Funeral – Highly recommend

    My family and I chose to use the services of Ivor Thomas Funerals Cardiff when my husband sadly passed away. The care we received from first contact to last was outstanding. Both Neil and Mark were available at all times to ensure our needs were met and guided us through the process with respect and compassion, this being our first experience of arranging a funeral. Jess, the secretary, is a lovely addition to the team. The service was delivered by a celebrant, Bernadette, who continued the high level of compassion and empathy and carried out the reading beautifully. Thank you. The quality of the casket was extremely high and the cars, pallbearers drivers continued to impress. I cannot recommend the company highly enough and they all ensured that the very sad occasion left us, as a family, feeling that we had done my husband, my children’s father and grandchildren’s grandfather proud. We cannot speak highly enough of all at Ivor Thomas Funerals. Thank you.

    Written by: Tina H

    via Yell on 10th September 2020

  • A huge thank you .

    A huge thank you to Mark Thomas of Ivor Thomas Funerals. Your assistance, guidance and compassion at this sad time was a blessing. And the respect you showed my dad. We thank you so so much.

    Written by: Cath Black

    via Google on 28th August 2020

  • Mark and Neil who worked so sympathetically.

    Kind and ethical service at a very difficult time. I am pleased to have found Mark and Neil who worked so sympathetically with our family, engaging with the children and offering good advice and support throughout!

    Written by: Cathie Lampert 

    via Google on 27th July 2020

  • I would unreservedly recommend.

    Took great care to explain everything and offer all possible options. Anticipated many questions I had, plus a lot more things I didn’t think of. Everything was very professionally and carefully organised, very much appreciated by everyone on the day. I was fortunate to have made contact through personal recommendation, and I hope this review helps others who may be looking for support at the most difficult of times – I would unreservedly recommend.

    Written by: Simon BG

    via Google on 7th July 2020

  • Thank you all again so much.

    As a family we cannot thank Mark, Neil and his family enough. From the start they were so empathetic and showed true care for what we were going through. They show the upmost respect for everyone involved. As a family run business they supported us more than we ever expected and we felt they were and extended part of our family and service. They couldn’t help us enough. Nothing was too much and they were there whenever we needed. Nothing was rushed and they took their time with everything we needed and did. Their professionalism was outstanding and they genuinely do their job because they care. They make it all about What you want and how they can help make it happen. I would highly recommend them. Thank you all again so much. We will never be able to put into worlds how much it will always mean to us everything you did.

    Written by: Carly Rutlidge

    via Google on 4th June 2020

  • I can’t speak highly enough of this exceptional outfit

    I am a solicitor specialising in Estate administration, and had the pleasure of instructing Mark, Neil and the rest of the team at Ivor Thomas to arrange the funeral of a lady who had passed with no family close enough to deal with things.

    The arrangement was perfect. The service, provided by a family-run company, was well considered and the minister presiding was well briefed.

    The cost was very reasonable, certainly in respect of other similar arrangements that I have been involved in both personally and professionally.

    I can’t speak highly enough of this exceptional outfit. They give you all the time you need, and have the ability to make everything so personal and tailored for your loved one.

    Thank you so much, Mark & family.

    Written by: Michael Fogg

    via Google on 4th June 2020

  • Reliable, supportive, communicative

    From start to finish, an excellent service. Mark and Neil were available to provide any information that was needed and were easily available in touch by text, email or phone call. They were exceptionally respectful, personable and supportive during a trying time. Their work was faultless from the initial phonecall to the funeral service itself. Additionally, the flowers they provided were beautiful. I recommend Ivor Thomas Funerals Ltd without reservation.

    Written by: David L

    via Yell on 2nd June 2020

  • I can never thank Mark and Neil enough.

    My beloved mother past away in may and had to organise a funeral for her I was nervous and anxious till I came across Ivor Thomas funeral directors. After the first phone call to mark I knew this was the right one . Mark and neil very professional they are very helpful with anything and it made me more relaxed about it seeing the circumstances. I can never thank mark and neil enough. Highly recommended.

    Written by: Isidoro Lewkowicz

    via Google on 27th May 2020

  • Very Professional yet Straight Forward

    Id Like to thank Mark for being so helpful during the whole procedure. Very Professional Service and straight Forward and of course exceptional value for money – Especially during this horrible period of Covid 19 – you have been outstanding. On behalf of all our Family we wish to thank you so much.

    Written by: Robin P

    via Yell on 26th May 2020

  • Ivor Thomas Funerals – Trusted, committed, supportive funeral directors during a difficult time.

    I never write reviews usually, however recently myself and my family required the services of Mark and Ivor. As a result, I felt compelled to give them the praise that they deserve.

    Our funeral was a natural burial in Usk and they were an integral to ensuring it ran smoothly.

    We received outstanding customer service from all the staff there (before and on the day). They went over and above the call of duty during a very stressful and difficult period for us.

    Nothing was too much trouble for them, and we really appreciated their patience and support during that time.

    As far as I am concerned if you are in this situation and require full commitment and backing from a trusted funeral director, do not hesitate to call them.

    Completely impressed at their skills, expertise and experience all at a very fair price.

    Thank you.

    Written by: Silure M

    via Yell on 26th May 2020

Testimonials

We are extremely proud of what we do here at Ivor Thomas Funerals, and are even more proud of the reviews and testimonials that we have received. We keep this page updated monthly and ensure that we put the dates and where it was left for transparency, so you can find the original statement.

Let us help you create a fitting tribute for a loved one

Call us on 029 22710 023 or request a callback using the form below